UIndy wins three national titles on day one of DII Swimming and Diving Championships

GREENSBORO, North Carolina – Last year at the NCAA Division II Championships, the University of Indianapolis swimming and diving programs won a total of four national championships during the four-day event. This year at the 2022 event, UIndy nearly tied that mark with three total between the two programs on the first day of action alone at the Greensboro Aquatic Center. In the team event standings, the men are second while the women are third.

Marizel van Jaarsveld (200 IQ Women) and Cade Hammond (men’s 1m dive) were each crowned individual national champions while the women’s 200m freestyle relay won the title and beat two Great Lakes Valley Conference opponents in the process.

Van Jaarsveld won his second straight 200 IM title after swimming a winning time of 1:58.91 tonight. Not only does she earn All-America honors, but this is also the third time in her UIndy career that she has won an individual national crown. Kaitlyn McCoywho finished second in the event last year, earned a solid third place in 2:00.82 for his own All-America honors.

On the way to the final, Hammond, Julio Osunaand Jason Lenzo were the top three divers in the men’s 1M diving event. Nothing changed in the final, as Hammond battled his way past his teammates to claim his first career national title with a winning score of 525.20. This is the first time in the program’s history that a Greyhound has won a national title crown in this event. Osuna fell right on Hammond’s heels with his score of 520.55 while Lenzo filled third place with a score of 454.80. All three divers earn All-America nods.


Entering as the defending national champion, the women’s 200-meter freestyle relay was set to face a highly competitive field that included GLVC rivals in Lindenwood and Drury. The Hounds delivered great things, as the quartet of Johanna buys, Leticia Vaselli, Andrea Paaskeand Kristal Caylor outlasted the field and defended his title with a winning time of 1:31.08 for All-America honors. Lindenwood finished second in the event while Drury finished third.

Another notable day one action from the women’s side saw the 200 medley relay open the night with a fourth-place finish in 1:39.69. Not only did it earn All-America honors and 30 team points, but it also set a new program record in the process. Julia Magierowska, van Jaarsveld, Buys and Vaselli etched their names at the top of the UIndy record book. Buys took part in the pool individually in the free 50 and earned a third-place finish of 22.75. With that finish, she is now a consecutive All-American in the race.


-14th- Vaselli, 50 free (23.35)
-16th- Brynhildur Traustadottir1000 free (10:17.43)

On the men’s side, the Greyhounds opened the evening in third place in the 200 medley relay to collect 32 team points. jeron thompson, Jan Zuchowicz, Kael Yorkeand Diego Mas faced an outstanding field and clocked a final time of 1:25.22 to earn All-America honors.

GLVC Swimmer of the Year Cedric Buess entered the pool in the 1,000 freestyle and earned a second-place finish in his first-ever NCAA championship encounter. The freshman from Germany hit the wall in a final time of 9:03.42 to earn All-America honors for himself.

To cap off day one, the men’s 200 freestyle relay added a bronze medal for UIndy and a new program record with a time of 1:17.46. Thompson, Diego Mas, Joao Silvaand Victor Anthony all earn All-America honors for their performance and now sit atop the program’s record books.


10th- Mas, 50 free (19.69)
13th- Christian Hedeen1000 free (9:14.17)
13th- Bartek Swiderski200 IM (1:48.12)
14th- Antonon, 50 free (19.84)
15th- Stanislas Chalat1000 free (9:18.06)


Interim Head Coach Brent NobleThoughts on the first day of action…
“Today was how we hoped to start. Our divers and relay teams were both excellent and we made the most of our opportunities in the final. I can’t wait to see more members of our team have opportunities to join us tomorrow and keep our success going.”

The action is scheduled to begin tomorrow with the preliminaries at 10 a.m. The finals will follow at 6 p.m.

Comments are closed.