Penn State Swimming & Diving announces 2021-22 schedule

0

Courtesy: Penn State Athletics

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pennsylvania – Penn State’s men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams have announced their 2021-2022 schedules. The Nittany Lions will take part in 14 meetings, including three at home and 11 on the road.

“Our team has done a focused block of work since arriving on campus this fall,” said the head coach. Tim murphy. “Our intentions are to be a better team both in and out of the pool and to move the program forward. We are extremely excited for our meeting schedule this year. During the season we will swim and dive against six different conferences. Each home and away competition will present unique challenges for our women’s and men’s teams.

Penn State begins the 2021-2022 season on Saturday, October 9, welcoming Navy at 12 p.m. at the McCoy Natatorium.

“Opening with the Naval Academy will be a very good test to start the season,” said Murphy. “Our mid-season invite to Greensboro will be against some of the best teams in the country. We are extremely grateful for the opportunity to have a full schedule of meetings this year with family and friends in the stands.

The Nittany Lions visit West Virginia on the following Friday and Saturday October 15 and 16. The women’s team will compete at 6 p.m. on Friday and the men’s team will compete the next day at 11 a.m.

The women’s team will travel to Liberty on Friday October 29 and Saturday October 30 while the men’s team will face Ohio State, Virginia Tech and Indiana, in Columbus, over the same two-day period.

The following Saturday, November 6, the men’s team welcomes Bloomsburg to the McCoy Natatorium.

Penn State is heading back to Greensboro, NC for the NC State Invitational. The men’s and women’s teams will participate in the three-day event from Thursday November 18 to Saturday November 20.

On Friday January 7, the Blue and White surrendered to Army West Point.

The Nittany Lions are traveling to Virginia Tech for a two-day meet from Friday January 21 through Saturday January 22.

Penn State wraps up the regular season the following week, Friday, Jan. 28. The Nittany Lions return home for a senior day against Villanova.

Penn State begins the playoffs in Wisconsin for the Big Ten Women’s Championships. The Nittany Lions swim in the four-day competition from Wednesday February 16 through Saturday February 19. The men’s team will take part in the Big Ten Championships the following week from Wednesday February 23 to Saturday February 26.

The Nittany Lions conclude the playoffs at the respective NCAA Men’s and Women’s Championships at Georgia Tech. The women’s team competes from Wednesday March 16 to Saturday March 19. The men’s team swims the following week, from Wednesday March 23 to Saturday March 26.

Dates and times are subject to change. Check out our calendar page on GoPSUSports.com for the latest information.

Follow the team on our social media pages on Instagram (@pennstateswimdive), Twitter (@PennStateSWIM) and Facebook (pennstateswimminganddiving).


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.