Inaugural Australian Swimming Hall of Fame inductees to be unveiled in Sydney next month

The biggest names in Australian swimming including Dawn Fraser, Murray Rose, Shane Gould and Ian Thorpe should join the golden pioneers Freddie Lane and Sarah “Fanny Durack” among the first inductees into the new Swimming Australia Hall of Fame next month.

The first class of inductees will be unveiled at the 2022 Swimming Australia Awards in Sydney, held at Sofitel Wentworth on Sunday August 28.

PIONEER: Freddie Lane won Australia’s first Olympic swimming gold medals in the Seine in 1900. Photo courtesy: Olympic gold medalist (Robin Poke and Kevin Berry).

It will be a celebration of Australia’s rich and storied history as the most successful country in all Olympic sport with the likes of Kieren Perkins, Grant Hacket and Susie O’Neill also at the top of a who’s who of Australia’s greatest swimmers.

Swimming Australia officially launched its Hall of Fame today – to recognize and celebrate the athletes and coaches who have left an indelible mark on the sport internationally.

The rich history of swimming in the Australian sporting landscape is about to be immortalized – a sport whose heritage dates back more than a century to Lane at the 1900 Paris Olympics, when the lifeline Mona Vale conquered the Seine twice to become Australia’s first swimming gold. medal.

Lane was inducted into the International Swimming Hall of Fame in 1969 and was inducted into the Australian Sports Hall of Fame in 1985, while Durack was among the first female trailblazers – the first Olympic gold medalist in swimming and the first Australian woman to win. an Olympic honor – inducted into ISHOF in 1967 and also an early inductee into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame in 1985.

Fanny Durack, Mina Wylie and Jennie Fletcher

Pioneers: 1912 Olympic medalists in the women’s 100m freestyle, Fanny Durack (centre), Australian in silver, Mina Wylie (right) and Jennie Fletcher, in bronze, at the GBR. Courtesy of NSW Swimming Archives (Lanes Of Gold).

The Swimming Australia Hall of Fame was established to recognize and celebrate athletes and coaches who have left an indelible mark on sport internationally.

An inaugural class of Dolphins will be inducted this year, before the nominations process opens up to the wider swimming community from 2023 to identify athletes and coaches deemed worthy of elevation to the Hall of Fame. fame.

To be eligible for induction, an athlete must have been retired from international competition for at least five years and have won at least one individual Olympic or Paralympic gold medal, or multiple FINA or Paralympic World Championships, or medals Commonwealth Games gold.

For coaches, elevation to the Hall of Fame can occur anytime a coach has provided long and dedicated service to the Dolphins team, coached an athlete to at least one Olympic gold medal, or Individual Paralympic, or multiple FINA or Para World Championships, or Commonwealth Games gold medals, and is highly regarded among his peers.

Athletes and coaches must also have brought a significant international reputation to swimming in Australia through their achievements and services.

CEO of Swimming Australia, Eugenie Buckley, welcomed the creation of the Hall of Fame, saying it would provide just reward and recognition to some of Australia’s most famous athletes.

“Of Freddie Lane in the Seine until Emma McKeonTokyo’s historic exploits, our Dolphins have continued to provide generation-defining moments and memories for over a century,” Buckley said.

“Over 1,100 athletes and over 150 coaches have proudly represented Australia on the international stage, many writing their own chapters in the successful legacy now synonymous with the Dolphins.

“Induction into the Hall of Fame will represent the highest honor and recognition an individual can achieve within the framework of swimming in Australia and it is only fitting that we are establishing such an avenue to celebrate athletes and the coaches whose performances have and continue to inspire the nation.”

Comments are closed.